Fall 2009 Story Contest Winners

Narrative congratulates the winners and finalists.

   FIRST PLACE   ($3,250)

   SECOND PLACE   ($1,500)
   DAVE BAUSCH   Dim Lighting at the Afterparty

   THIRD PLACE   ($750)
   NATE HAKEN   Leach Pad

TEN FINALISTS   ($100 each)

David Abrams   This Is Not a Christmas Story
Megan Mayhew Bergman   Housewifely Arts
Han-ping Chin and William O’Daly   This Earthly Life: A Historical Novel
Abby Frucht   Quint
William Litton   The Seamster
Jerry Mathes   Birth of the Hippo
Mary Morrissy   Sirens
Evan James Roskos   A Real American Hero
Heather Sellers   Victory Gardens
Olivia Shannon   The Palm of a Loving Hand


The Winter 2014 Story Contest, with a $2,500 First Prize, a $1,000 Second Prize, and a $500 Third Prize, and ten finalists receiving $100 each. Open to fiction and nonfiction. All entries will be considered for publication. This contest opens on January 1, 2014, and closes on March 31, 2014.