2016 Awards for Narrative Authors

Viet Thanh Nguyen’s debut novel The Sympathizer has won the 2016 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction. The Pulitzer committee lauded the novel as “a layered immigrant tale told in the wry, confessional voice of a ‘man of two minds’—and two countries, Vietnam and the United States.” Nguyen has also won the Dayton Literary Peace Prize, which honors writers whose work uses the power of literature to foster peace, social justice, and global understanding. Read three of Nguyen’s stories in our Archive.

Ocean Vuong, winner of the 2015 Narrative Prize, has won a 2016 Whiting Award. The $50,000 award is based on early accomplishment and the promise of great work to come. Vuong has also received a 2016 Lannan Fellowship for emerging writers of distinctive literary merit who demonstrate potential for continued outstanding work. Read Vuong’s poetry in our Archive.

Kirstin Valdez Quade’s story collection Night at the Fiestas has won the American Academy of Arts and Letters’ 2016 Sue Kaufman Prize for First Fiction. The collection includes Quade’s short story “Nemecia,” which was selected for the O. Henry Prize Stories, 2014 and “The Manzanos,” which was a Notable Mention in The Best American Short Stories, 2015.

Anthony Marra, winner of the 2012 Narrative Prize, has received the 2016 American Academy of Arts and Letters’ Rosenthal Family Foundation Award in Literature for his story collection The Tsar of Love and Techno. The collection included the stories “Granddaughters” and “The Palace of the People,” which first appeared in Narrative. Marra won the $4,000 Narrative Prize after his first published story, “Chechnya,” appeared in Narrative, followed by several other stories and an essay.

Joyce Carol Oates’s memoir “The Lost Sister: An Elegy” was selected for the Best American Essays, 2016. More of Oates’s ficition and nonfiction is available in our Archive.

Norman Dubie’s collection The Quotations of Bone has won the 2016 International Griffin Poetry Prize. The prize, the world’s largest for a single poetry collection, aims to raise awareness of the crucial role poetry plays in our cultural life. A number of Dubie’s poems are available in our Archive.

Mary Morris’s novel The Jazz Palace has won the 2016 Anisfield-Wolf for Fiction. The award recognizes books that make important contributions to our understanding of racism and cultural diversity. A number of Morris’s stories are available in our Archive.

Tessa Hadley has won the 2016 Windham Campbell Prize. The $150,000 prize calls attention to literary achievement and provides writers with the opportunity to focus on their work, independent of financial concerns. Read an excerpt from Hadley’s novel Clever Girl.

Lisa Ko has won the 2016 PEN/Bellweather Award for Socially Engaged Fiction. The award, which was established in 2000 by Barbara Kingsolver and is funded entirely by her, was created to promote fiction that addresses issues of social justice and the impact of culture and politics on human relationships. Read Ko’s story “Jackpot” in our Archive.