The Summer He Didn't Die

(Fiction; Atlantic Monthly Press, 2005)

The Summer He Didn’t Die is Jim Harrison’s fifth collection of novellas (The Legends of the Fall was his second). The novella is a form not often found in contemporary American fiction, falling between the safe marketing harbors of the novel and the short story collection. But it is a form that lends itself to Harrison’s prodigious storytelling gifts—the rich, encompassing descriptive sense of a novel, and the brevity and wit of a shorter work. Harrison, an esteemed poet, novelist, short story writer, memoirist, essayist, and journalist, is the prolific and unexcelled master of the contemporary novella.

—Lacy Crawford

People on couch
To continue reading please sign in.
Join for free