Passing the Torch:
Narrative Prize Winners

The $4,000 Narrative Prize is awarded annually for the best short story, novel excerpt, poem, one-act play, graphic story, or work of literary nonfiction published by a new or emerging writer in Narrative. Recent winners include Gbenga Adesina, Brenden Willey, Paisley Rekdal, Javier Zamora, Ocean Vuong, and Anthony Marra. For a complete list, look here.

In this video Nigerian poet Gbenga Adesina, the 2020 Narrative Prize winner, and previous Narrative Prize winners Brenden Willey and Paisley Rekdal discuss the effect that the prize has had on their confidence and careers.