Narrative Prize Winners
in Conversation

The Narrative Prize is awarded annually for the best work of literary fiction or nonfiction published by an emerging writer in Narrative. It’s a prize, yes, but it’s also a statement of belief in a writer’s present and future work. Past winners include Ocean Vuong, Anthony Marra, Min Jin Lee, Natalie Diaz, Maud Newton, Gbenga Adesina, Kirstin Valdez Quade, and Javier Zamora. For a complete list, look here.

In this video, as Nigerian poet Gbenga Adesina, the 2020 Narrative Prize winner, passes the torch to the 2021 Narrative Prize winners, Morgan Talty and Tryphena Yeboah, we asked them to talk about their work, their dreams, and the impact the prize has had on their confidence and careers.